ShahreFarang http://shahrefarang.com شهرفرنگ Sat, 11 Jul 2015 06:59:53 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=438 World Wrestling Championships in Tehran (1973) http://shahrefarang.com/en/1973-world-wrestling-championships-tehran/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/1973-world-wrestling-championships-tehran/#comments Sun, 01 Feb 2015 22:03:42 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14922 http://shahrefarang.com/en/1973-world-wrestling-championships-tehran/feed/ 0 Composition & Dictation Notebook from 1937 http://shahrefarang.com/en/notebook-1937/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/notebook-1937/#comments Thu, 04 Dec 2014 20:32:30 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15886 Iraj Afshar, dated 1937.]]> http://shahrefarang.com/en/notebook-1937/feed/ 2 Pre-revolution Soundtrack Album Covers http://shahrefarang.com/en/album-covers-movie-soundtracks/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/album-covers-movie-soundtracks/#comments Thu, 30 Oct 2014 04:49:09 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15827 http://shahrefarang.com/en/album-covers-movie-soundtracks/feed/ 3 A House Near Ferdowsi Square http://shahrefarang.com/en/house-near-ferdowsi-square/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/house-near-ferdowsi-square/#comments Thu, 03 Jul 2014 19:31:54 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15709 http://shahrefarang.com/en/house-near-ferdowsi-square/feed/ 3 Tehran Opera Company (1974-75) http://shahrefarang.com/en/tehran-opera-company-1974/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/tehran-opera-company-1974/#comments Thu, 01 May 2014 06:28:47 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15585 http://shahrefarang.com/en/tehran-opera-company-1974/feed/ 5 Five Hours to the New Year http://shahrefarang.com/en/tajrish-new-year-nowruz/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/tajrish-new-year-nowruz/#comments Sat, 22 Mar 2014 04:10:22 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15482 http://shahrefarang.com/en/tajrish-new-year-nowruz/feed/ 3 Animal Hospital in Tehran http://shahrefarang.com/en/animal-hospital-in-tehran/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/animal-hospital-in-tehran/#comments Thu, 13 Mar 2014 23:09:42 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15365 http://shahrefarang.com/en/animal-hospital-in-tehran/feed/ 0 Lady Cockroach http://shahrefarang.com/en/lady-cockroach/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/lady-cockroach/#comments Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:28:14 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15318 http://shahrefarang.com/en/lady-cockroach/feed/ 3 Ettelaat Daily’s Old Building http://shahrefarang.com/en/old-ettelaat-building/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/old-ettelaat-building/#comments Thu, 30 Jan 2014 21:17:46 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15234 http://shahrefarang.com/en/old-ettelaat-building/feed/ 0 Iran National Football Team http://shahrefarang.com/en/iran-national-football-team/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/iran-national-football-team/#comments Wed, 22 Jan 2014 19:39:03 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15135 http://shahrefarang.com/en/iran-national-football-team/feed/ 2 An Overlooked Shahnamah http://shahrefarang.com/en/overlooked-shahnamah/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/overlooked-shahnamah/#comments Mon, 13 Jan 2014 21:51:56 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15179 unrecorded Shahnameh in British Library collection. This copy of Shahnameh is probably from 1640, illustrated by by Muhammad Yusuf, a prolific artist during the reigns of the Safavid rulers Shah Safi (r. 1629-42) and Shah Abbas II (r. 1642-66). ]]> http://shahrefarang.com/en/overlooked-shahnamah/feed/ 3 Tehran Taxi in London http://shahrefarang.com/en/tehran-taxi-london/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/tehran-taxi-london/#comments Wed, 18 Dec 2013 09:15:32 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=15013 Peykan Hunter into a 1970s’ Iranian taxi. He says: “To me my taxi is [like] history on four wheels, it gives me pleasure bringing back some memory from our past.”]]> http://shahrefarang.com/en/tehran-taxi-london/feed/ 2 Zahirol-Eslam’s House http://shahrefarang.com/en/zahiroleslam-house/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/zahiroleslam-house/#comments Sat, 14 Dec 2013 20:51:40 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14969 the latest news Zahiroleslam’s House is going to be demolished soon. The house is one of the rare examples of the architectural fusion style of the early 20th century that combines elements of Iranian traditional architecture with European styles.]]> http://shahrefarang.com/en/zahiroleslam-house/feed/ 9 Shamloo by the Caspian Sea http://shahrefarang.com/en/shamloo-caspian-sea/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/shamloo-caspian-sea/#comments Fri, 13 Dec 2013 21:30:16 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14930 http://shahrefarang.com/en/shamloo-caspian-sea/feed/ 4 Faces from Old Neighborhoods in Shiraz http://shahrefarang.com/en/faces-old-neighborhoods-shiraz/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/faces-old-neighborhoods-shiraz/#comments Wed, 27 Nov 2013 23:53:30 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14700 Kamran Heidari, says: “This is the only place that you feel life is going on. If you want to see the real Shiraz you have to see this place. [The touristic] Zandiyeh complex is always there to visit but this [flea market] is there only for three hours.” The pictures are taken between 2008 and 2013.]]> http://shahrefarang.com/en/faces-old-neighborhoods-shiraz/feed/ 31 Women’s Clothing in Iran http://shahrefarang.com/en/women-dress-in-iran/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/women-dress-in-iran/#comments Thu, 21 Nov 2013 17:36:14 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14719 http://shahrefarang.com/en/women-dress-in-iran/feed/ 5 Street Singers and the Passers-by http://shahrefarang.com/en/street-singers-passers-by/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/street-singers-passers-by/#comments Fri, 27 Sep 2013 20:00:40 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14590 http://shahrefarang.com/en/street-singers-passers-by/feed/ 4 The 4th Grade Spelling Notebook http://shahrefarang.com/en/4th-grade-notebook/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/4th-grade-notebook/#comments Sat, 21 Sep 2013 23:09:05 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14571 Iraj Afshar. Dated 1935.]]> http://shahrefarang.com/en/4th-grade-notebook/feed/ 0 Edwin Lord Weeks http://shahrefarang.com/en/edwin-lord-weeks/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/edwin-lord-weeks/#comments Fri, 20 Sep 2013 21:17:42 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14528 Edwin Lord Weeks (1849-1903) was an American artist. He made many voyages to the East, including Iran. In 1895, he wrote and illustrated a book of travels, From the Black Sea through Persia and India, which has many illustrations of Iran (Persia).]]> http://shahrefarang.com/en/edwin-lord-weeks/feed/ 1 Faces of Ilkhchi http://shahrefarang.com/en/ilkhchi/ http://shahrefarang.com/en/ilkhchi/#comments Mon, 16 Sep 2013 02:59:30 +0000 http://shahrefarang.com/?p=14279 Gholam-Hossein Saedi’s “Ilkhchi”, an ethnography of a village located in Iran's East Azerbaijan Province (1963, Tehran).]]> http://shahrefarang.com/en/ilkhchi/feed/ 0